Contests & Awards


The Editor’s Prize: Poetry

Past Winners

2015:  Jacob Strautmann for “Five String” and Mark Yakich for “Lamentation”


The Editor’s Prize: Prose

Past Winners

2015:  Luke Wiget for “A Boat Story” and Matthew Fogarty for “Finishing Moves (when it comes crashing down)”


Teresa A. White Literary Award:
“Buck-a-Word” Contest

Past Winners

2013: Chad Simpson for “I Later Learned the Fish was a Gar” – featured in print edition 7.1 and on radio broadcast (epsiode 7-6)

2011: Kelly Martineau for “Bounty and Burden” – featured in print edition 5.1 and on radio broadcast (episode 6 – 4)

2009: Roy William Scranton for “Never Closer” – featured in print edition 3.1 and on radio broadcast (episode 2 – 9)

Reading for the Linda Hodge Bromberg Award takes place in odd-numbered years.


The Linda Hodge Bromberg Literary Award

Past Winners

2014: Eileen Malone for “weed, seed, creed”- to be feaured in print edtion 8.1 and on radio broadcast (episode 8-4)

2012: Andrea Bates for “For Those Who Have Given up on Fire” – featured in print edition 6.1 and on radio broadcast (episode 6 – 4)

2010: Crystal Hadidian for “Old Men” – featured in print edition 4.1 and on radio broadcast (episode 6 – 4)

Reading for the Linda Hodge Bromberg Award takes place in even-numbered years.

Book Trailer Contest for Writers and Small or Independent Presses

Congratulations to the winning entrants in Quiddity’s book trailer competition.  The contest has no fee and awards two prizes of $500 as well as broadcast, Web, and print promotion by Quiddity—one prize each in the categories Manuscripts (for writers with unpublished, completed manuscripts) and Books (for small or independent presses promoting their titles and authors).

First-place winners and honorable mentions from Quiddity’s most recent competition are featured below.  The variety of the entries made them a delight to behold, and we were grateful for the opportunity to host the contest in support of both writers promoting their manuscripts in the marketplace as well as those champions of literary production: small and independent presses.

Manuscripts Category
(awards for a book trailer video submitted by a writer who has a book-length work of prose that has not yet found its home with a publisher)

First Place:  Stace Budzko’s “How to Set a House on Fire” (Short Story Collection)

Books Category
(awards for a book trailer video submitted by a small or independent press promoting a recent title and author)

First Place:  Doug Harris’s You Comma Idiot (Goose Lane Editions)

Honorable Mention:  Jessica Bell’s String Bridge (Lucky Press, LLC)

Honorable Mention: Christopher Allan Poe’s The Portal (Black Opal Books)

Honorable Mention: Evelyn Krieger’s One Is Not a Lonely Number (YM Books)